Shinkansen

I am patient zero, catching dream sequences at speeds exceeding three hundred kilometres per hour

My heart does not race

It sings, trembling

For the way the world looks back into me

The high speed whistle soothes

Tunnels blanket me

And window side I catch glimpses of unspeakable scenes:

The trees are serene

The rivers are gentle

The countryside need not scream

For me to listen

To its topography

The land on which I’ve roamed my wearied feet

My shoes worn to the world

I find instead the earth singing back

Each valley a blessing

Each bridge a prayer

Leave a Reply

